Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This page describes the cleanup functionality which is available from version 1.9.2. For earlier versions see Cleanup Policies (v1.9.1 and below).


Every build that is executed within Continua CI stores information in the server's workspace, such as artifacts and build logs, and entries in the database. These by-products are vital for executing your build process and tracking build information, however, they can also take up considerable disk space over time and have a negative impact on database performance. Cleanup settings and rules define when any unneeded or old build files and data should be removed, which reduces the amount of disk space that Continua CI is currently using. 

There are cleanup settings and daily cleanup rules. Generally, the settings specify when cleanup should run, and the rules define which aspects of which builds should be cleaned up on a daily basis.  Cleanup settings and one or more rules can be defined at all three levels of Continua CI.

Global Cleanup

The global settings and rules can be found in the Administration section, under Continuous Integration.

The Cleanup Settings and Daily Cleanup Rules on this page will apply to all configurations unless they are overridden for a project or configuration. By default, the global cleanup is set to run at midnight and the agent workspace is set to be cleaned up for all build results, and there is one default daily cleanup rule which is set to remove other server workspace files (e.g. not artifacts or build logs) for builds older than 90 days, skipping a minimum of 10 latest builds. If the number of existing builds is greater than 100 then the oldest builds will be deleted.

See Cleanup Settings of more information on editing settings and Daily Cleanup Rules for more details on editing rules.

A list of projects and configurations which override the global cleanup settings or any of the global daily cleanup rules are listed in the Overrides section on this page.

You can also manually run the cleanup rules for every configuration from this page by clicking on the Run Cleanup Now button (or the Save & Run Cleanup Now button if there are any unsaved changes to save first). Note that if a configuration or project has overridden the global cleanup settings or rules then the overriding settings and rules will apply when running the cleanup.

Project Cleanup

A project's cleanup settings and rules are defined in its project wizard. The project wizard can be found by selecting a project and clicking 'Edit Project' in the Tasks menu. Cleanup is the fifth step in the project wizard. 


The Cleanup Settings and Daily Cleanup Rules on this page will apply to all configurations in the project unless they are overridden for a configuration. By default, the project cleanup inherits all settings and rules from the global cleanup.

See Cleanup Settings of more information on overriding and editing settings and Daily Cleanup Rules for more details on adding, overriding and editing rules.

A list of configurations which override the project cleanup settings or any of the project daily cleanup rules are listed in the Overrides section on this page.

You can also manually run the cleanup rules for every configuration in the project from this page by clicking on the Run Cleanup Now button (or the Save & Run Cleanup Now button if there are any unsaved changes to save first). Note that if a configuration has overridden the project or global cleanup settings or rules then the overriding settings and rules will apply when running the cleanup. Also, if a project inherits global settings or rules and they are not overridden then those settings and rules will apply to each configuration when you manually run a cleanup.

Configuration Cleanup

A configuration's cleanup settings and rules are defined in its configuration wizard. It can be found by editing the configuration and navigating to the Cleanup section of the wizard. 


The Cleanup Settings and Daily Cleanup Rules on this page will apply the current configuration. By default, the configuration cleanup inherits all settings and rules from the global cleanup.

See Cleanup Settings of more information on overriding and editing settings and Daily Cleanup Rules for more details on adding, overriding and editing rules.

You can also manually run the cleanup rules for a single configuration from this page by clicking on the Run Cleanup Now button (or the Save & Run Cleanup Now button if there are any unsaved changes to save first). Note that if a configuration inherits global settings or rules and they are not overridden then those settings and rules will apply to the current configuration when you manually run a cleanup.


Note that pinned builds are marked as important. This means that they are excluded from the daily cleanup and can never be deleted by the daily cleanup rules. 



  • No labels