Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 7 Next »

Roles allow administrators to apply a specified set of permissions to individual users and groups, allowing administrators to specify exactly what each user can see and do. Each user or group can have multiple roles.

Once a role has been created, it can be linked to 

 

The Roles page can be found in the administration menu under Security. The roles page lists all the roles in Continua and allows you to create, edit and delete them.

Permission Grouping

Permissions in Continua have been grouped so that if you apply a certain permission, any other necessary permissions are automatically included. For example, if you grant someone access to Edit configuration, they automatically receive access to View configurations as well. Also included with Edit configuration are all the Build Permissions, as a build is an extension of a configuration.

Any of these included permissions can be overridden in the Access Control section.

Permission Definitions

NameIncludesAccess Granted
AdministratorAll permissionsAccess to the entire administration section and every other aspect of Continua. Administrators are the only users that can modify global security settings
Manage CI ServerManage CI Agents, all config. and build permissions

Access to the Continuous Integration Administration section. Users need this permission to modify CI properties and set CI Issue Connectors.

This also includes agent management and all configuration and build functionality. (Note this permission does not include view project which is required to view configurations)

Manage CI Agents Access to the Agent administration section. Allows the user to authorise/deauthorise agents and delete agents
Project AdministratorAll Project permissionsAccess to the Project security section. Also allows the user to create, edit and delete projects.
View Project Can see projects but cannot change any project settings.
Edit ProjectView ProjectCan modify any settings on existing projects. This does not grant access to the Project Security section.
Create ProjectEdit Project, View ProjectCan create new projects and edit existing projects. This does not grant access to the Project Security section.
Delete ProjectEdit Project, View ProjectCan delete existing projects and edit existing projects. This does not grant access to the Project Security section.
Configuration AdministratorAll Configuration and Build PermissionsGrants full permission to configurations and builds. This also includes access to the Configuration Security section. (Note: to be able to view/modify a configuration, a user must also have View Project permissions on the configuration's parent project)
View Configuration  
Edit Configuration  
Create Configuration  
Delete Configuration  
Start Build  
Stop Build  
Promote Stage  
View/Download Artifacts  
Pin/Unpin Build  
Add Comment  
Tag Builds  

 

Creating a Role

Clicking the "Create" link will pop up a dialog with all the input fields needed to create a new role.

The permissions list contains every single permission in Continua grouped by category. The permissions selected here are the ones you want the role to have access to.

Take note that each category also has a check box which selects all the child permissions. For example, if you select Projects then it will auto-select Create Project, Delete Project, Update Project and View Project. However, selecting Projects is an alias for Projects.*, so if a new permission was added, say Backup Project, then the role you've created will have permission for it. If, on the other hand you didn't select Projects and instead explicitly selected the Create/Delete/Update/View Project permissions then the role would not have permission to Backup Project.

Editing a Role

Clicking the "Edit" link at the end of each row will pop up a dialog with all the input fields needed to edit the selected role. 

 

Clicking the "Delete" link at the end of each row will pop up a confirmation prompt. Click 'Yes' to delete the role. 

  • No labels