Page tree

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Roles allow administrators to apply a specified set of permissions to individual users and groups, allowing administrators to specify exactly what each user can see and do. Each user or group can have multiple roles.

Table of Contents

 


The Roles page can be found in the administration menu under Security. The roles page lists all the roles in Continua and allows you to create, edit and delete them.

Image Modified

Permission Grouping

...

Any of these included permissions can be overridden in the Access Control section.

Permission Definitions

NameIncludesAccess Granted
AdministratorAll permissionsAccess to the entire administration section and every other aspect of Continua. Administrators are the only users that can modify global security settings
Manage CI ServerManage CI agents, all config. and build permissions

Access to the Continuous Integration Administration section. Users need this permission to modify CI properties and set CI Issue Connectors.

This also includes agent management and all configuration and build functionality. (Note this permission does not include view project which is required to view configurations)

Manage CI Agents
 

Access to the Agent administration section. Allows the user to authorise/deauthorise agents and delete agents
Project AdministratorAll project permissionsAccess to the Project security section. Also allows the user to create, edit and delete projects.
View Project
 

Can see projects but cannot change any project settings.
Edit ProjectView projectCan modify any settings on existing projects. This does not grant access to the project security section.
Create ProjectEdit project, view projectCan create new projects and edit existing projects. This does not grant access to the project security section.
Delete ProjectEdit project, view projectCan delete existing projects and edit existing projects. This does not grant access to the project security section.
Configuration AdministratorAll configuration and build permissionsGrants full permission to configurations and builds. This also includes access to the configuration security section. (Note: to be able to view/modify a configuration, a user must also have View Project permissions on the configuration's parent project)
View Configuration
 

Can see configurations and builds but cannot edit either the configuration or it's builds. This permission does not allow users to start or stop builds (Note: to be able to view/modify a configuration, a user must also have View Project permissions on the configuration's parent project)
Edit ConfigurationView Configuration, All build permissionsCan modify any settings on existing configurations. This does not grant access to the configuration security section. This also includes all build permissions. (Note: to be able to view/modify a configuration, a user must also have View Project permissions on the configuration's parent project)
Create ConfigurationEdit configuration, view configuration and all build permissionsCan create new configurations and edit existing configurations, including all build actions. This does not grant access to the configuration security section. (Note: to be able to view/modify a configuration, a user must also have View Project permissions on the configuration's parent project)
Delete ConfigurationEdit configuration, view configuration and all build permissionsCan delete and edit existing configurations. This does not grant access to the configuration security section. This also includes all build permissions. (Note: to be able to view/modify a configuration, a user must also have View Project permissions on the configuration's parent project)
Start Build
 

Can start builds. (Note: to be able to view builds, a user must also have view configuration permissions on the build's configuration)
Stop Build
 

Can stop builds. (Note: to be able to view builds, a user must also have view configuration permissions on the build's configuration)
Promote Stage
 

Can promote a build to the next stage. (Note: to be able to view builds, a user must also have view configuration permissions on the build's configuration)
View/Download Artifacts
 

Can view and download artifacts generated by a build. (Note: to be able to view builds, a user must also have view configuration permissions on the build's configuration)
Pin/Unpin Build
 

Can pin and unpin builds. (Note: to be able to view builds, a user must also have view configuration permissions on the build's configuration)
Add Comment
 

Can add and edit comments to builds. (Note: to be able to view builds, a user must also have view configuration permissions on the build's configuration)
Tag Builds
 

Can tag builds. (Note: to be able to view builds, a user must also have view configuration permissions on the build's configuration)

 


Creating & Editing a Role

...

When a role is deleted, all associated permissions are deleted with it. This means that deleting a role will strip it's permissions from any users associated to that role.